fashion

ThurSTAY.

Let me tell you something.. Starting a blog is hard. Let me tell you something else, getting through a Thursday (that’s actually your Friday) is even harder! I’ve been trying to brainstorm ideas of daily notes to share with you all (or just myself depending on who is actually reading this HA!) I am doing an interactive journal called “Start Where You Are” – it’s a self-exploration journal. For those of you who have checked out my blog before, you may remember the post I previously did about this book. Well, I’m obsessed with it.

I decided that Thursday, or ThurSTAY, is going to be my day to stay in and share/encourage exploring yourself. This week my lesson is on losing. The challenge states “When you lose, don’t lose the lesson.”- Dalai Lama.

Isn’t it interesting how quickly we forgot to look for the lesson in all things? I know that I am quick to play the “poor me” card instead of thinking….. Wait, what am I suppose to learn in this moment? This particular page posed the question to think about something that you lost recently. What are two positive insights you gained from the experience?

Well, if I’m honest, I’m not sure of something that I have lost recently other than “my way”. Ever since relocating home to the Cape I have come to realize that I feel very lost. Like I don’t have a clue what I am doing in life. I’m not living where I want to be, I don’t work in a job that I love or find overly fulfilling (although I love my co-workers) I mean, what am I doing here? Well I realized that there were some blessings that came from moving home. 

1- I was in the worst relationship I have ever been in (I know you’re wondering what the positive in that is) but I met my BEST friends because of this jerk. I have some of the greatest friends now. They are so loyal, and would do anything for me, and for that I will be forever grateful. 

2- I was able to find the church that I have been longing for all of my life. A place where people encourage me and help me to grow and expand my role as a Worship Leader. This has been huge for me, and my growth over these last two-three years. 

See, there are positive things that can come out of loss, or situations that are not ideal. Embrace where you are, look for the “silver lining” and impact your life with positive thoughts. 

Leave a Reply

