beauty · fashion · style

casual looks.

This week was a busy one for me – juggling multiple jobs and running from rehearsal to rehearsal. Sometimes I wonder where the day goes – lately I have been feeling like I am just working my life away and not truly living. It can be a hard balance this “working to live” thing. I just want to be able to sit here in my home with coffee and my lap top and get paid. (I mean people do that right?) By the end of the day I just wanted to crash and sleep. BUT before I sleep I want to share my look from today! Is this poncho not the most comfortable looking thing?! WELL, it is! On the hanger this piece had no spark to me. I really wasn’t feeling it, I immediately thought “I bet that is frumpy and unflattering” WELL. I went to a work through with my Store Manager (Jess) and one of the district managers was wearing this with some skinny jeans, booties and a fun necklace and I was sold.

This is one of the reasons that I love social media and working with women. How many times do we walk past something because of the lack of appeal on the hanger? I won’t lie – I do it often. I love seeing how other women wear items that I would not give the time of day to and then immediately needing to go shopping to add it to my closet. It’s important to not “judge a book by its cover” if you will. This was one of those for me, and today it’s easily become one of my favorites!Layering was my main accomplishment with this ootd (clearly!) Started with a basic tank (Loft) under a layering tee from Old Navy. It was a chilly day so I wanted some extra layers to keep warm. On top of my layering tee I used my poncho – I love the way the fall colors compliment each other so nicely. Maroons and browns are such a pair! Then adding more browns and gold for accessories to pull the look together.

Normally I try to avoid pairing a scarf with a necklace – not for lack of liking the look but I just prefer to have one or the other personally. However, it was hot as Hades in the Loft that day so layering was good when it was too hot to wear the scarf. I do like layering scarves and necklaces but it’s never been a forte of mine. I will be working on that more though as this season pans out before spring time comes.  Details: Old Navy layering tee, Loft poncho, Loft necklace, Zinnia scarf, Loft modern skinny jeans, Payless booties.

Leave a Reply

