fashion

Defy hanger appeal!

I love the spring time for many reasons, one of which is all of the floral prints that come out! I love florals, in my opinion there is nothing more flirtatious and feminine than a woman in bright floral prints. I tend to find my love for florals just about anywhere, and on just about anything. Dresses, shirts, purses, wallets – you name it, I want it.

I had absolutely no intention of trying on this dress at the Loft, one of my co-workers actually convinced me to try it on and I am SO thankful that she did. I trust her opinion, she is always brutally honest and pushes my boundaries to try new things. This dress is fairly new to the spring collection; I loved the bright colors and floral print but the busy pattern was deterring me from taking it off the hanger. Oddly, this busy pattern is really cute on! Here are some details of how I styled my first day out in this beaut.

This dress is called the Blossom Flutter Dress! It has bright, bold colors that are perfect for spring time. The light hues really shine in the spring time but the dark navy hues also make it great for in between seasons with some navy/dark tights and dark boots, shoes or heels. The versatility of this dress for being in season is great! I love a dress that can be pushed through more than one season, makes all the difference when searching through your closet year round for something to wear.This dress has many great qualities to it. The floral print is flirty and the delicate ruffled edges to this sleeveless dress is so feminine. I love the light detail to the ruffles, gives it a little something extra without being overbearing with a bold print. The cut of this dress is really flattering; the neckline is modest (perfect for work or play!) and the waistline fell at the perfect spot on me. This dress also comes with a thin tie to put around your waist too! The length is a little short but not too short on a tall woman like myself, this dress is featured here on me in “missy” not “tall”. 

This sweater has been featured quite a few times on my blog (and more to come I’m sure). I loved the way this navy, Italian knit sweater paired with this dress. It really is a great, staple piece for the fall, winter and spring. Heck, maybe even during a cool summer night. The navy color is great because it can really go with anything and I absolutely love the look of this cardigan. The stitching is beautiful and classic, something that every woman should have in her closet. The ¾ length sleeves are essential for a year round piece and the fact that it has pockets just ensures the use you will get out of it. It’s so soft, and my nephew loves to snuggle up in it because it’s so soft and warm. 

How to style this dress – here’s the thing, with a bold pattern you don’t want to overwhelm your look with tons of crazy jewelry OR have your jewelry consumed by the dress. I suggest earrings, maybe a pretty stud or a simple dangle, with your hair up to show off those shoulder ruffles. I would suggest to avoid necklaces as you won’t really see it or it could be waaaaaay too busy. Bracelets are another great option; you can really get creative with bracelets, beads, bangles, pearls! Whatever your heart desires!

Leave a Reply

