fashion

Saturday.

As I mentioned in one of my previous blog posts I recently joined Style Collective and let me tell you, it’s been amazingly helpful. If you are a blogger in fashion or lifestyle you should check them out. Learning how to grow my brand has been something that I feel I have spent so much time on, but didn’t actually know how to do. Now, I’m not saying all of a sudden I have all of the answers BUT I will tell you that it has helped me organize my thoughts and form a plan to make some dreams come true.

I got to thinking – what do I want out of this? It all started as a way for me to be creative and share what I am passionate about. I’m working a job that ultimately I’m not happy in, I don’t make enough money, I guess you could say that I was feeling stuck in life lately. I started this blog as a way to share my passion for fashion; I love fashion, personal style and that unique creativity that no one else has but you. That’s what is so great about fashion, no one person is the same as another. We all have different influences that drive us to make the decisions and statements that we make.

For me, I wanted to create Style by Leanne to be something that women all over could read about and see inner beauty defined by happiness. Let me tell you, I was not happy a few months ago. In fact, there was a HUGE cloud around my head for quite some time. Now I won’t get all sappy on you, but I want to be real and have you understand where I am coming from. Life is hard, especially being a woman in my 20’s. I am expected to be at a certain point in my life – great job, married/serious relationship, having babies. WELL LET ME TELL YOU I AINT THERE! I am happily single for the first time in my life, I am happily content with working multiple jobs (well, that’s a little white lie. No one really likes all work and no play right?) but for the most part I am finally moving in a direction I am proud of. I just moved into a new apartment off Cape away from my safety net of family and friends – I am working two jobs, participating at my church on Cape and trying to have a social life with my friends in the city.

It’s hard! I want people to see authentic snap shots of my life and how I am in that moment. If I’m sad and want to post about it, I will. If I’m so in love it’s obnoxious, great. If I am content being in the moment doing nothing at all with tea in hand, I want people to see that. Sometimes people have this “I need to show that everything is so great and wonderful look at me” attitude and well, that’s what social media is for right? Being whoever you want, whenever you want? That’s not what I’m looking for; I want real, stripped down, hey this is where I am at. If you don’t want to see it, that’s fine, but I hope you will stick with me on this journey.

OKAY – onto the good stuff. What do I want my brand to be? I want people to read through Style by Leanne and see posts/information that is real and about loving who you are. I want beauty from the inside, loving who you are. I want to portray healthy images of beauty and life for women of all ages and comfort in yourself. I am a tall girl, over 6 feet – I had a hard time growing up knowing that I would forever tower over every man and woman. Now, I’m 27 now and I still tower over 99% of the world population (okay that may be dramatic but it sure seems that way!) but I am finally at a place where I am comfortable with myself. It took me years of getting over my “I’m awkward” phase! Girls these days have so many messages being thrown at them – be skinny, lose weight, do this, do that, look like this, look like that. Well that’s something that I am not about. I think we need to be happy internally before we can ever be happy externally.

I love fashion, I love that I have the ability to wear clothes and accessories that help me feel my best. It is so important to feel good about yourself, see what you like and don’t like. I love anything classic, feminine and timeless. I love a look that is modest, yet has some sex appeal. I love my body, finally, and I want to show it off at its best. I want to feel 100% comfortable 100% of the time. That’s my goal with Style by Leanne, to encourage women to be comfortable with themselves 100% of the time.

So to start, that what I’m going for – comfort 100% of the time and loving yourself the way you are. We will see where it goes, but I’m a firm believer in beauty, especially from the inside! Have questions, comments? Email me at stylebyleanneblog@gmail.com or DM me on Instagram.

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

