The other day I was walking down the street and was stopped by a woman who looked to be a little older than I was. She stopped me and asked where I got my dress from, I told her it was from the Loft and she said, “it really suits you well.” She was saying how she had no idea how she would style the dress that I was wearing. I was curious what exactly she meant by that, as I was wearing a patterned, floral dress. We continued chatting for a few minutes about how she felt she had “no style” and didn’t even know where to start.

I love meeting people who think that they have no style, because EVERYONE has some sort of “style”. We are all different, we have our own individual likes and dislikes. I want to show you this dress and show you how you can style it any way you want to. I personally think that prints are so bold in themselves, there really is no need to add more. Although, some may disagree and say you can never have too much of a bold outfit. This dress is from Loft this season, and there are many reasons to love it.


First, sleeves! These cute, capped flutter sleeves are great because they give you that extra coverage that you cannot always find for your arms. Many times I have women come into the Loft looking for something to hide “these arms!”. Well, this dress is great for that, if that is something that will make you feel comfortable. It’s great for any nice occasion – work, date night etc. the sleeves are light and can still be layered over if needed.

Another perk of this dress is the waistline. There is a thin, tie belt that comes with it. I like these belts because you don’t actually have to use them unless you want to. I also prefer them because they can be tied as to not draw any extra attention to your midsection which is a problem area for me. As a tall woman, with a problem midsection, I tend to have trouble with dresses that have waistlines that are defined like this. They tend to hit me in the wrong places which can make for a really unflattering look.


And finally the print. I would wear simple jewelry with this dress. The pattern is big, bold and don’t smother or take away from that. I say simple necklace, bracelets and earrings. That’s how I wear this, I make my dress the focal point because, after all, it is! However, there is no right or wrong. Make each piece your own and stay true to your own style!

Leave a Reply

