fashion

Welcome to Wednesday! 

Now that I have started to work out more regularly I am going to do a Work Out Wednesday post to hold me accountable, but also to share some of the struggles and triumphs that I have experienced through this journey. One of the really awesome things that have happened is having my friends come alongside me and work with me. My friends and roommate have been so amazing in encouraging/motivating and holding me accountable for accomplishing my goals.

 

Isn’t that what it’s all about? Being able to accomplish a goal, dream or challenge? Life is about growth and this is growth that I don’t necessarily like, or care for, but it’s important to me. It’s important to never walk alone – find people who will come and walk with you. Okay, now on to the good stuff.

So I just finished my second training session with my Fit Trainer at Fit Factory. Her name is Ashleigh and she is AMAZING. She gave me a work out that literally rocked my body in a way that i haven’t felt since college. So here’s how this works – I am doing 4 session with her (1 a week) for 30 minutes. Just a brief time before I head out to Hawaii to be able to learn some exercises that I will be able to learn and incorporate into my daily or weekly routine. I might continue this after I return but since I am on a budget, this will do for now.

 

Training session #1 – leg day! I couldn’t walk after this session for like 3 days and it was awesome. Here was my routine – I started with weighted “step ups” where you would hold weights in both of your hands and step up onto a fixture, one leg at a time and then step down again one leg at a time. 12 reps, 2 sets (doing each leg separately). This was oddly more difficult than I anticipated, after the first round I was feeling the burn. Lunges – 2 sets, 12 steps (doing each leg separately). It was nice having Ashleigh there with me to make sure that I was in proper form and not cheating!

 

The rest of the exercises were done on machines, except a band exercise that I did. I did curl ups, laying on my stomach and curling my legs up with the machine. 2 sets of 12 reps. Leg ups? I didn’t write down what these machines are called so this is what I call them! It’s basically just the opposite of the other one, I’m sitting and push the machine up with my legs, 2 sets of 12 reps. The sitting squat machine was intense since my legs were jello at this point, but we did 2 sets of 12 reps. Finally we did 2 sets of 15 reps with the calf raising machine – this one felt amazing. It was challenging but also felt like a strong stretch which was great.

It really has been amazing working out again. I’m feeling really good and making some progress and building stamina! Stay tuned for session #2 coming next week! 

Leave a Reply

